Skip to main content


CAPSAC Virtual Awards Event

Save the Date for the 2024 CAPSAC Awards Ceremony!

This is a FREE online event. 

Date: Wednesday, April 10, 2024

Time: 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM (PT)

Register HERE or by going to:

CAPSAC will be giving three awards:

The Karen Saywitz Legacy Award was established in 2021 to honor Dr. Saywitz, who was a pioneer in forensic interviewing of children and child development. The award highlights those who collaborated with Dr. Saywitz, were mentored by her, or were influenced by her rich body of work in child maltreatment intervention, investigation, forensic interviewing, advocacy, treatment, and prevention. Previous recipients include Dr. Jodi Quas, Dr. Gail Goodman, and Dr. Tom Lyon. The award recipient will give a presentation at the event with time for Q&A.

              Recipient: Dr. Bette L. Bottoms

The Paul Crissey Graduate Student Research Award has been given for more than two decades in honor of Paul Crissey, who served as President of CAPSAC during its formative years in the early 90s and dedicated his professional life to the welfare of children. The award is given for outstanding research by a graduate student in the field of child maltreatment, child welfare, foster care, or a related topic.

              First place recipient: Krystal Wilbert, Cal State University LA, The Effects of Type of Abuse and Victim Age on Juror Decision-Making

              Shared second place recipients: Dana Hartman, UC Davis, Childhood Sexual Abuse: A Longitudinal Study of Disclosures and Denials & Anthony Gomez, UC Berkeley, Bringing Development to the Forefront: An Investigation of Foster Care Trajectories and Placement Instability in a Sample of California Adolescents

The Neal Snyder Outstanding Community Service Award recognizes professionals who demonstrate extraordinary dedication and efforts on behalf of children. Neal was an attorney who specialized in protecting children from abuse, and a role model for many in the field. He was a co-founder of CAPSAC and a supporter throughout his life. 

              Recipients: Erin Runnion, The Joyful Child Foundation and Cari Teran, Healing To You.

CAPSAC will recognize outstanding work in the field of child maltreatment through these three awards. Mark your calendars for April 10, and watch for more information soon!

Please contact Nelle Stanwood at or at (707) 512-0957 for any questions or concerns or if you require any accommodations to participate in this training. Requests must be received by 3/27/24.

This training is presented by the California Professional Society on the Abuse of Children, with support from CATTA. CATTA is a project of the Center for Innovation and Resources, Inc. with funding awarded by Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) Victim Assistance Formula Grant Program (Formula Grant Program) and Child Sexual Abuse Prevention state funds (Grant Subaward numbers NC21 15 8567) through the California Governor's Office of Emergency Services (CalOES)